Girls Season 2, Episode 2: I Get Ideas

I had two revelations when I watched this episode. The first is that I can actually sympathize with some of Marnie’s problems. Since she’s recently unemployed, she is now looking for work that is both meaningful and enjoyable but still pays her enough so she can pay rent and not be miserable. After a bad interview experience, she decides to accept a job as a hostess, which won’t be fulfilling as a career but will give her a chance to buy her happiness. What former college student can’t understand her situation? That feeling of being forced to choose between your ideals/dreams and your need for money is one of the most universal things that almost anyone can understand. It is the feeling that defines the 20’s of this generation. I feel bad for her, but I’m not optimistic about how long my sympathy will last.

The second revelation is that maybe republicans aren’t so bad. Hannah and Sandy (Donald Glover) got into an argument this week about Sandy’s political beliefs that turned into an argument about race. For as much flack as Lena Dunham got last season for not having more diversity in the show, I think she handled race issues great in this episode. The argument felt so much like previous conversations I have had. It’s all about us being in a post-racial world where people don’t see color. Of course, that’s usually not the case. We have all been there either as the person saying that we have moved past race issues, or as the person saying race issues still exist but don’t control me.  More important than the race issues, I wonder can you date someone with different political opinions. I mean I can respect that Sandy is a republican and is entitled to his own views but I’m not dating him. I’m curious to see if Hannah can date him and respect his views at the same time.

Favorite line of the night: You don’t need two republicans to make a republican. Yea, they’re like terrorists you don’t need two terrorists to make a terrorist.

Fun Fact about Marnie’s interview scene is that Lena Dunham’s mother is the woman that interviews Marnie. Check it out in this video:

Leave a Reply

